Asian Boxing Championship: Amit Panghal lost to Uzbekistan boxer Zirov in the final, could not save the title

Asian Boxing Championship: Amit Panghal lost to Uzbekistan boxer Zirov in the final, could not save the title

India’s Amit Panghal lost to Rio Olympic gold medalist and reigning world champion Uzbekistan boxer Zoirov Shakhobidin on the final day of the 2021 ASBC Asian Women’s and Men’s Boxing Championships in Dubai on Monday. In this way, Amit could not defend the title he had won in 2019. Asian Games champion Top Seed Panghal defeated Shakhobidin 3-2 in 52kg. Phanghal, who won a bronze in the World Championship, will now have to be content with the silver medal. This is the overall third and first silver medal in the Asian Championship. Earlier, Panghal had won gold in 2019 and bronze in 2017 in Tashkent.

Apart from Panghal, Shiv Thapa (64kg) and Sanjeet (91kg) will compete in the final today. Assam boxer Thapa, who has been jointly the most successful male boxer in the championship with five consecutive medals, has to accept the challenge of Batsukh Chinjorig of Mongolia, the Asian Games silver medalist. Second seed Sanjeet will face Rio Olympics silver medalist Vasily Levitt, who will enter the ring, aiming for his fourth gold medal at the Asian Championships.

Earlier, Indian women won a total of 10 medals in this prestigious championship being jointly organized by Boxing Federation of India (BFI) and UAE Boxing Federation. This includes Pooja Rani (75kg) gold while MC Mary Kom in 51kg category, Lalbutsahi in 64kg category and Anupama won silver in plus 81kg category.

Apart from this, Simranjit Kaur (60 kg), Lavlina Borgohain (69 kg), Jasmine (57 kg), Sakshi Chaudhary (64 kg), Monica (48 kg) and Sweety (81 kg) won bronze. In the men’s category, Vikas Krishna (69 kg) and Varinder Singh (60 kg) also won bronze.

Due to his great success, India could win a total of 15 medals. The special thing is that Indian women won medals in every weight category and gave India better success from 2019, when India won 13 medals in Bangkok.

In this, the achievement of worship of Bhiwani of Haryana is special because she was successful in saving her title. Mary Kom, however, could not win her record sixth gold. In the same way, Lalbutshahi impressed everyone with his fearless game.

The special thing about this year is that there has been a huge increase in the prize money of the championship. The International Boxing Association (AIBA) has allocated US $ 4,00,000 prize money for this championship.

Gold medalists in the men’s and women’s categories are being awarded US $ 10,000, while silver and bronze medalists are being awarded US $ 5,000 and US $ 2,500 respectively.

It is noteworthy that 150 boxers from 17 countries including strong boxing nations like India, Uzbekistan, Mongolia, Philippines and Kazakhstan participated in this championship.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: