Monday, July 26, 2021
HomeIndia NewsNandigram election results: HC issues notice to Shubhendu Adhikari on Mamata Banerjee's...

Nandigram election results: HC issues notice to Shubhendu Adhikari on Mamata Banerjee’s plea

West Bengal News: The Calcutta High Court on Wednesday issued notice to BJP leader Shubhendu Adhikari in an election petition filed by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. In this, the election of Shubhendu Adhikari from Nandigram constituency was challenged in the 2021 assembly elections. The notice can be returned on 12 August 2021.

Justice Shampa Sarkar of Calcutta High Court issued this notice while hearing the petition. The court also directed that all the documents related to the election under challenge, election papers, equipment, video recordings etc., should be preserved by the concerned authority who is also the custodian of the papers and documents. The CEO and EC along with the Returning Officer will be a party to the matter.

Justice Shampa Sarkar said that the part of Rule 23 has lapsed as the petitioner has participated in it once online. Senior advocate Soumendra Nath Mukherjee requested the court to direct the Election Commission to make it a party and also save all the records till the disposal of the case. The court ordered that all election related documents, election documents, equipment, video recordings will be kept safe till the disposal of the matter.

In the Bengal elections 2021, BJP candidate Shubhendu Adhikari defeated Mamata Banerjee by a margin of less than two thousand votes in Nandigram assembly seat. Mamta Banerjee had then accepted her defeat, but later she challenged the election result in the High Court.

Mamta Banerjee had already said that she would consider going to court later. In her petition filed in the Calcutta High Court, Mamata Banerjee has accused Shubhendu Adhikari of rigging the counting of votes. Along with this, the Trinamool supremo had also made serious allegations against the election officials posted at the counting center.


Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: