Monday, July 26, 2021
HomeIndia News8 BJP MLAs resign from assembly committees against the appointment of Mukul...

8 BJP MLAs resign from assembly committees against the appointment of Mukul Roy

Kolkata: Eight Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators on Tuesday resigned as heads of various committees of the Assembly in protest against the appointment of MLA Mukul Roy as the chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

Leader of Opposition Shubhendu Adhikari objected to Roy’s promotion, arguing that the MLA, who switched over to the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) last month after winning the election on a BJP ticket, cannot be considered a BJP MLA.

As per convention, the MLA of the main opposition party is made the PAC president and Mukul Roy has not stepped down as a BJP MLA in the House despite changing the party.

Manoj Tigga, one of the BJP MLAs after resigning from a standing committee said, “Roy’s appointment is a naked display of undemocratic and partisan politics. In protest, we have decided to step down.

Eight MLAs, including Mihir Goswami, Bhishma Prasad Sharma and Tigga, led by Adhikari later went to the Raj Bhavan to apprise Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar about the “gross violation of democratic norms by the ruling party”.

Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress deputy chief whip in the House Tapas Roy said it was the decision of the BJP and he would not like to comment on it. “Appointments to any assembly committee should be left to the discretion of the Speaker, who followed the rule in this matter. It has to be kept in mind that BJP was conspiring to topple democratically elected governments across the country to capture power. They have no right to speak on democratic values.

Significantly, on July 9, BJP MLAs staged a walkout in the assembly after Roy was made the head of the PAC.


Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: